The National Curriculum

The school curriculum includes the ‘National Curriculum’, as well as RE, PSHE and sex & relationships curriculums.

The National Curriculum is a statutory curriculum document used by primary and secondary schools.  It covers what subjects are taught and the standards children should reach in each subject.

The National Curriculum is organised into blocks of years called ‘key stages’ (KS). At the end of each key stage, the teacher will assess pupil progress and outcomes.

Our 5 Star Pledge
We strive for every child to feel success and be motivated individuals who endeavour to do exceptional things. We believe that a broad, balanced, creative curriculum will enable children to flourish. With this in mind, we pledge five core opportunities that every child will experience during their time at Diptford Primary School and Nursery.
Across the school, teachers follow the maths scheme of work published by ‘Maths No Problem!’  We foster a mastery approach that supports pupils to understand fluently and deeply before moving on.  Teaching maths for mastery stems from high performing nations such as Singapore. For more information, the link below will take you to the Maths No Problem main website.
Our Maths calculation policy exemplifies how we approach each of the 4 operations in a progressive way.
Long term plan
Our long term plan paces out the topics for each year group in a rolling programme.  Key areas for learning  and learning 'hooks' are identified.  Beneath this plan sits the National Curriculum and our Key Skills documents. Teacher plan in more depth for each subject, identifying specific vocabulary too. 
Please follow the link below to see our Long Term Plan updated in line with our class structure for 2019-20.
We use 'Letters and Sounds' to teach phonics, supported by Phonics Play and other interactive resources. Letters and Sounds is a systematic approach for teaching children to read using phonics. It is split into six phases, from starting to learn about sounds at nursery to becoming fluent readers around age 7.

Some pupils may require additional support to fill any gaps in phonics learning and this will take place according to individual need.  In Year One, pupils undertake the statutory National Phonics Screening Check.  If they do not pass, they can retake in Year 2. 

At Harbertonford, we use the principles of Talk for Writing and Babcock teaching sequences to support our English teaching and learning.  We use the 'Letter-join' programme to support pupils to develop a cursive handwriting style, with the expectation that they use it with increasing confidence by the end of Year 2.  
For reading, we use a range of reading schemes that support phonics and early reading which are organised according to 'book bands'.  Pupils are supported to select from this wide range of early reading texts (also see our Phonics tab). 
Once pupils are more confident readers, they access our Accelerated Reader (AR) programme.  AR is a computer program that really motivates pupils and makes reading such an enjoyable experience.  There is a wide range of books and authors available, and children self-select from within their carefully identified reading range.  When they have finished their book, they take a short quiz on the computer through their own, individual portal.  AR gives both children and teachers great feedback based on the quiz results.  
For more information, please follow the links below.
RE and World Views
We use RE Today, Devon and Torbay agreed syllabus to teach RE and World Views.  This is supported by Understanding Christianity which accounts for 50% of RE core learning.

Early Years Foundation Stage

The early years foundation stage (EYFS) sets standards for the learning, development and care of your child from birth to 5 years old.  Your child will mostly be taught through games and play.

There are seven areas of learning and development that shape the Early Years Curriculum. All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected:

 -communication and language

-physical development

-personal, social and emotional development



-understanding the world

-expressive arts and design

In planning and guiding children’s activities, we reflect on the different ways that children learn and build these into our practice.  Three characteristics of effective teaching and learning are:

• playing and exploring - children investigate and experience things, and ‘have a go’

• active learning - children concentrate and keep on trying if they encounter difficulties, and enjoy achievements

• creating and thinking critically - children have and develop their own ideas, make links between ideas, and develop strategies for doing things

Other Curriculum Subject Statements
Key Skills
The documents below identify the key skills that support achieving National Curriculum outcomes in Science and other Foundation subjects. They are progressive across each year group (Year 1-6).